Life is Tough

I haven’t written on this blog for awhile. There has been a good reason. I was using a pen name and l thought I had hired a company to develop the virtual presence of that name. Now, less than a month before the London Book Fair and the official launch of the first in the Kate Allen thriller franchise, The Black Sea, I have been forced to revert to using my own name. Although, I hired these hucksters in August, to date there is little more than a handle full of Twitter followers by which they are trying to justify their exorbitant fees – which I eventually refused to pay – since they were not coming up with the “goods”. They claimed that they were handicapped by my not being in the country enough or when I was, I was sick and they basically took the money and ran and provided little if anything of what they had been hired to do. My absences were the very reason I went to them for help in the first place and were a determinant of giving them that work.

So they screwed me. So what? Life is tough. People will always be there to knock you, try to obstruct you, criticize you, block you or down right thwart your every move. These people can and often are your own friends and family. But for those who believe that eventually everything that goes up must fall I would point out that these people usually never amount to much. Karma or the courts will eventually kick them in the ass.

“It is not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena; whose face is marred by the dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error or shortcoming; who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions and spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best, knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who, at worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly; so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory or defeat.” Theodore Roosevelt

So I and a quite a few others have been in crisis management mode getting things back to good. Everybody is working their asses off and despite these bad people lurking out their at every corner you must simply pick yourself up, brush yourself off – keep calm and carry on.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

