There Comes a Time in Your Life When You Must Draw and Line and Say: ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

I WANT CONTROL OF MY MIND BACK

Lately I have found it harder and harder to concentrate.  I started investigate possible reasons for this deteriorating situation.  It seems that the constant television, radio, newspapers, buses, the underground, escalators, electronic

Even in the back seat of the taxi: it doesn't stop.  Photo Jodi  Young

Even in the back seat of the taxi: it doesn't stop. Photo Jodi Young

billboards, traditional print billboards, bench backs, tweets, internet, magazines, pamphlets and leaflets… not to mention text advertisements and span emails, have caused a blizzard of sorts in my mind.

Even the whirl of branded clothes, glasses, and accessories adds to the storm.  Now, for those of you who know a little bit about me I would probably best be described as a Buddhist, but I love theology, mythology, history, philosophy, sociology and psychology.

Even Andy... Photo by the Viscount

Even Andy... Photo by the Viscount

Last month I read the Koran and like many belief systems it recommends periods of fasting to concentrate the mind and focus on the values and ethics using the fast as a way of bring your attention to the beautiful teachings in the Koran (if you haven’t read  it, I highly recommend it, regardless of your theological affiliation).  In the spirit of the Islamic fasting aiding concentration on the religion, I have decided to begin a media fast to remove the barrage of media and advertisements that don’t allow me to quiet the din in my head – “which is too much and it’s no good.” S. Vega

So I planned the media fast, but after several days I realize short of being in the mountains or desert there is no way to avoid media.  As a result I have decided specifically to avoid all advertisements.  The problem is that living in the center of London this is not going to happen because of ‘collateral advertising’  (just like collateral damage).  The almost impossible situation created by capitalism to ensure that your mind is effectively kidnapped by the advertisers – resulting in a form of ‘Advertising Stockholm Syndrome.’  The point that you are so unwittingly become a cog in the perpetrator’s wheel and end up supporting the very people

'I didn't start the fire, it was always burning since capitalism's been turning.'

'I didn't start the fire, it was always burning since capitalism's been turning.'

who have kidnapped your body, mind or soul.  Advertisers are the capitalists form of terrorism.  How many images and messages does one mind have to endure.  Apparently the answer in the capitalist system is infinite.  They expect that we can ultimately absorb all that is thrown at us without reacting to it.  But we can’t.

Over the next six weeks I am going to do my best to avoid all types of advertising and report to you here on the my efforts and the results of those efforts:  how it effects me metaphysically and psychologically and if I am lucky I will try to extrapolate some kind of sociological benefit from avoiding advertising of all kinds.

It won’t be easy I know.  Almost certainly close to impossible, but I will try to get the bar as high as possible and make my assessments as interesting as possible.

I hope you will all enjoy reading the results.

3 Comments

Filed under Advertising, English, Fasting, Getting Published, Journalism, Media, Novels, Writing

3 responses to “There Comes a Time in Your Life When You Must Draw and Line and Say: ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

  1. Eduardo Perez

    You’re right when you say that advertising affects us. But we live in a capitalist world. The how we affect each of us depends on our morale. Fly Emirates to live!!

  2. Tamsin Young

    YAY! meee toooo what a fabby idea!

Leave a Reply

